The Legacy of Ykesha was the fifth (5th) Everquest expansion, released in February of 2003.

This expansion was available exclusively via download, which is just about standard fare these days.

However, at the time, I believe it may have been an effort to boost profits by eliminating costs (no packaging, no discounts to distributors for resale) while still charging full retail price.

It became apparent, after this expansion, that Sony may have burned some bridges, as once Everquest expansions returned to boxed editions (with the next expansion), they were rare inclusions on retailer shelves (even to this day). Many believe this has contributed to World of Warcraft's dominance in the MMORPG world... that and Sony's lack of advertising efforts.

This, in my opinion, was the "least" expansion ever, because it seriously lacked in content, even if it did add some popular features.

Features introduced included the Froglok player race (they had all ready been in game, they just were not a player race), armor dye, the charm slot, charms, in-game maps, the guild management window, the shared bank slot and expanded bank slots (from 8 to 16).

To go along with the Froglok introduction, the Frogloks invaded the Troll city of Grobb, took it over and renamed it Gukta, Outpost of Marr. The Grobb trolls sought refuge in Neriak, while a new faction, the Broken Skull trolls, moved to the Gulf of Gunthak and the connected zones (the new zones).

In 2005, the trolls would reclaim their city (and rename it Grobb, again) while the Frogloks would seek refuge in the Mountains of Rathe, where they remain today.

I do like the fact this expansion expanded into actual new lands, rather than some fictional "otherworld," however.













 Force of Akera




Bonzz's Home Page

Everquest (Original)

Ruins of Kunark (1st)

Scars of Velious (2nd)

Shadows of Luclin (3rd)

Planes of Power (4th)


Lost Dungeons of Norrath (6th)

Gates of Discord (7th)

Omens of War (8th)

Dragons of Norrath (9th)

Depth of Darkhollow (10th)

Prophecy of Ro (11th)

The Serpents Spine (12th)

The Buried Sea (13th)

Secrets of Faydwer (14th)

Seeds of Destruction (15th)

Underfoot (16th)

House of Thule (17th)

Veil of Alaris (18th)

Rain of Fear (19th)


If you note any errors, misspellings, item name errors, misinformation or anything that needs addressing on this page -- PLEASE let me know! E-Mail me here (click here)!


This Page Last updated October 28, 2012